ADVERTISEMENT

Rules Question

wubear44

JV Poster
Mar 3, 2006
135
0
16
Ok, I've been out of coaching for a couple of years now, but I was at a game last night and the following situation arose--

The possession arrow is to Team A. Player B1 has the ball and driving for a last second shot. Player A1 blocks the shot and a jump ball is called as time expires.

To start the 4th quarter, the officials award the ball to Team B. Coach A calls the officials over to question the possession. The officials state that Team A "got their possession with the jump ball at the end of the 3rd quarter as time expired."

After a held ball, I thought the arrow only changed after the throw-in ends, either by putting the ball in play or a violation occurs during the throw-in. Since time expired and there was no throw-in attempt, how did Team A lose the possession arrow? Since Team A was never actually awared possession (throw-in attempt), shouldn't they have retained the possession arrow to start the 4th quarter?
 
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Go Big.
Get Premium.

Join Rivals to access this premium section.

  • Say your piece in exclusive fan communities.
  • Unlock Premium news from the largest network of experts.
  • Dominate with stats, athlete data, Rivals250 rankings, and more.
Log in or subscribe today Go Back